2015 Impact Awards's featured image
Pictured left to right: Christine Meneer, Ballet Theatre of Ohio; Nelson Burns, Coleman Professional Services; Ohio Supreme Court Justice Evelyn Lundberg Stratton (retired); and Mark Scheffler, Leadership Akron.


Watch Recipient Videos


Hudson, OH (11/20/15) On November 19, 2015, The Margaret Clark Morgan Foundation (MCMF) hosted the Impact Awards dinner at Northeast Ohio Medical University to celebrate partner organizations and individuals demonstrating exemplary performance in support and service of the Foundation mission.

Rick Kellar, President of the Foundation says, “The Impact Awards program was established to acknowledge and reward ideas demonstrating strong commitment that often links their personal passions with their professional pursuits. The Compass Award is designated to an individual whose long term contributions have made an impact in mental health, a specific focus of our mission.”

“This year’s awardees have a passion for improving lives and bringing out the best in others. They are inspiring their coworkers, peers and the beneficiaries of their work in Northeast Ohio, nationally and around the world.”

The 2015 awardees were:

Impact Award for Excellence in Arts: Christine Meneer, Artistic Director, Ballet Theatre of Ohio, provides superior arts programming. They open their performance schedule to all ages and abilities while engaging thousands of hours of annual volunteer support. They have built a sustainable nonprofit that allows arts to thrive. http://ballettheatreohio.org/

Impact Award for Excellence in Mental Health: Nelson Burns, President and CEO, leads an exceptionally competent and compassionate organization, Coleman Professional Services. He continues to expand the services throughout Ohio; increasing, quality outcomes for the clients they serve. http://www.colemanservices.org/

Impact Award for Excellence in Education: Leadership Akron currently boasts 1,000 Alumni and is a key source for board leadership in nearly all non-profit organizations in the Greater Akron area. http://www.leadershipakron.org/

Compass Award: Justice Evelyn Stratton’s lifelong commitment is to improve the lives of individuals suffering serious mental illness by sharing her personal experiences and professional power to address their needs. Her leadership roles at the local, state, and national level, are contributing to changes in mental health policies. http://www.vorys.com/stratton

More than 400 people attended the awards reception, held in the NEW Center at Northeast Ohio Medical University, in Rootstown, Ohio. Attendees included Jerry Craig, Joel Mowrey, and Steve Stone, executive directors of Summit, Portage and Ashland County’s Mental Health and Drug and Alcohol boards; Christine Mayer, President of the GAR Foundation; Suzie Graham, President & CEO of Downtown Akron Partnership; Captain Dan Zampelli, City of Akron Police Department; Mark Masuoka, Executive Director and CEO of Akron Art Museum; and Phillip Herman, Superintendent, Hudson City Schools.

Leslie Parker Barnes, Executive Director of YEPAW, and program members, Cara Culver and Kristen Myricks sang a hymn following the invocation. The Moss Stanley Trio performed while guests enjoyed red carpet treatment throughout the evening.